ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

05-23-2011, 06:34 PM   #1
07Z4M4me
Private
Rep
Drives: 07 Z4M Coupe

z4M rear brakes squealing under heat?

So I had my 07 M Coupe on track at Putnam Park in Indiana a few weeks ago. First time on track with it. As I've had some track experience in the past, I was able to pick it up pretty quick, and was soon getting into braking zones well.

So...after a half hour session of clear runs...still plenty of brake feel, which was great, and no grumbling sounds that some complain of. Instead, under light braking towards the end of the session, the rear brakes were yelling like crazy, thought I had a pad going bad or something.

So after I got off the track, I talked to another guy who has a z4M, who noted his stock rear brakes did the same thing, and I believe he said a fluid change solved a lot of it. Says they were just hot due to the aggressive lapping. Any thoughts on this? Plenty of pad and rotor left, BTW....
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2011, 12:01 PM   #2
jmillet
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2023 Hyundai IONIQ 6 SEL AWD

Garage List
Need more info: what brake pads are you using on the track?
DSC on or off?
I run PF-01 pads on the track and they sound terrible when they cool down.
The Z4M DSC interacts with both the engine and brake management systems:
http://www.bmw.com/com/en/insights/t...y_control.html
With R-compound tires (Toyo R-888) and -3.5 degrees of camber up front I run with DSC off; in street configuration (-2.0 degrees front camber and OE Conti tires) I leave the DSC on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 07Z4M4me View Post