ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

05-27-2009, 07:14 AM   #1
mpower03
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 08 z4 M Coupe

Autox

I am new to autocrossing and I am looking to go to my first event next month at an airstrip. I just had a couple of questions. Do you ever downshift into first? Also, how should i set my car up for the first time?
Thanks!
      05-27-2009, 08:57 AM   #2
bkz4mc
Mars Bitches... Red Rocks !
United_States
Rep
Drives: '07 Z4 M Coupe

They'll have instructors that go for rides with you that will give you tips, etc.

You pretty much shift into 2nd and leave it there for the whole course. Maybe check out this book called "Speed Secrets - Winning AutoCross Techniques" You can get it on Amazon and it gives you all the info you need on figuring out lines, trail breaking, and everything else you need to know about it all.

One major thing you need to figure out will be your tire pressures. Tire pressure rises as the tires heat up, so you need to keep them at a constant hot pressure by bleeding out the air each run to keep them where you need them to be. So I recommend getting a portable air compressor as well for when you're done and want to drive home, so you can re-fill your tires to a safe pressure for freeway driving or if you bleed too much out at the track.

Just ask one of the people there that looks like they know what's up and they'll give you a crash course on that and any other questions you have. People are really friendly and helpful so they'll point you in the right direction when you have questions.

Be super smooth with the throttle / braking / streering input and keep both hands on the wheel at 10 / 2. And turn off DSC and turn on Sport mode !!!!

It's a blast... you'll be hooked
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2009, 01:10 PM   #3