ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-06-2018, 07:11 PM   #1
KevinC
your average JAMF
KevinC's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
1,668
Posts

Drives: '08 Z4MC, '16 Golf R
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hereford, AZ

iTrader: (0)

coding DRLs, clown nose, TPMS & infotainment

Is there a code reader or dongle out there that will allow me to somewhat easily code the above items? I want to code my DRLs on, as they were on my '07 - the inner halo rings. I also want to code the clown nose to blink when the car was locked, despite no alarm being present - another thing my '07 was coded to do. I would also like to be able to code out the TPMS sensors once they give out, as replacement is expensive. And lastly my infotainment system has been set to "roadster" per the previous owner, a trick I'd read about back in the day, but I was 100% fine with my original being coded as a coupe, and would like to return the current car to the proper coupe coding.

How can I do this without INPA and a laptop? I'm looking for a dongle-based solution, such as Schwaben or Carly or... ?
__________________
'08 Z4M Coupé LM08602
'16 Golf R
'17 Kawasaki Versys 650
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 09:59 PM   #2
pungo
Captain
pungo's Avatar
United_States
99
Rep
705
Posts

Drives: 2007 Z4 ///M Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Don't know about dongle-based solution. I just use an old laptop w/ NCSExpert and a $10 USB to OBD II interface to do my coding. Not sure about the TMPS sensors or roadster setting, but I did do track mode to give a 3rd mode to the DSC button. Why don't you want to use a laptop with a cable, too last decade for you
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 02:37 AM   #3
KevinC
your average JAMF
KevinC's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
1,668
Posts

Drives: '08 Z4MC, '16 Golf R
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hereford, AZ

iTrader: (0)

No Windows hardware in the house, and last time I did try to mess with INPA or some BMW solution (was a long time ago, can't remember what it was) I was never able to get it to work. So looking for an easy solution - like OBDeleven for my Golf, which is spectacular and inexpensive.
__________________
'08 Z4M Coupé LM08602
'16 Golf R
'17 Kawasaki Versys 650
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 03:59 AM   #4
StickMon
My other car is on Mars
StickMon's Avatar
United_States
519
Rep
2,964
Posts

Drives: 2006 MR
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lo-Cal

iTrader: (1)

Unfortunately, 8 years have passed since your Z and your Golf.
The only thing I know of for what you want to do is NCS.
Maybe Progman for the DRLs.
The roadster equalization is a much sought after upgrade, and frankly, I doubt you would notice much difference.
__________________
Warning: May contain traces of nuts.

Last edited by StickMon; 12-08-2018 at 01:12 PM.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 10:17 AM   #5
3002 tii
Lieutenant General
3002 tii's Avatar
United_States
984
Rep
10,973
Posts

Drives: Z4M, X3 35i, i3 REx
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CT

iTrader: (87)

Garage List
No mobile solution, still need NCS and laptop
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 02:06 PM   #6
Huz-Z
Brigadier General
Huz-Z's Avatar
Canada
399
Rep
3,271
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0si, 328 XDrive, X5 35i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Be careful coding the DRLs . Canadian spec will turn on the Halos and the headlights too whereas US spec is the halos only.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 04:26 PM   #7
Rated M Roadster
Captain
Rated M Roadster's Avatar
45
Rep
791
Posts

Drives: F10 M5, i3, Z4M
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: ABQ

iTrader: (7)

I just coded mine with the Carly app and WiFi module (have to use their module). Coded front and rear DRLs and 3 blink turn signals, but there are more options you can do.
__________________

CURRENT ll F10 M5 l E85 Z4MR l I01 i3 REX
SOLD ll E70 X5M l E85 Z4MR VF570 l E36/7 Z3MR l E36 328i
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 06:42 PM   #8
pungo
Captain
pungo's Avatar
United_States
99
Rep
705
Posts

Drives: 2007 Z4 ///M Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinC View Post
And lastly my infotainment system has been set to "roadster" per the previous owner, a trick I'd read about back in the day, but I was 100% fine with my original being coded as a coupe, and would like to return the current car to the proper coupe coding.

If your talking about the sound systems DSP module changes between E85 vs E86 there are like 40 filterbank changes. You'll probably need a module dump from a E86 to write to the DSP module. Not sure if you'll be able to do that without NCPExpert, but I don't know the capabilities of those dongle-type tools.



BTW, I tried the E85 DSP changes on my E86 and didn't care for the change. I switched it back to E86 and just changed some of the loudness parameters.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 06:51 PM   #9
wdb
dances with roads
wdb's Avatar
United_States
1113
Rep
1,907
Posts

Drives: '07 Z4MC, '07 Z4C, '07 E93
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: the perimeter

iTrader: (4)

All this stereo talk. Mine is almost never on! I like the car noises. But then I don't daily drive it.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 07:02 PM   #10
inTgr8r
Lieutenant General
inTgr8r's Avatar
Canada
1337
Rep
11,061
Posts

Drives: E86 Z4MC; E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huz-Z View Post
Be careful coding the DRLs . Canadian spec will turn on the Halos and the headlights too whereas US spec is the halos only.
FWIW
It can be done on a CDN spec car as well w/o headlights, there are just a couple of extra lines to code as well.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 09:12 PM   #11
KevinC
your average JAMF
KevinC's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
1,668
Posts

Drives: '08 Z4MC, '16 Golf R
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hereford, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for all the responses. Sounds like Carly might be worth a shot. The reviews of it are VERY mixed.

My original Z4MC didn't have the DRLs enabled when I bought it, but after a scheduled service visit, they must have flashed it because it came back with them activated. The clown nose also blinked when the car was locked - not sure if that started at the same time or if it came out of Spartanburg that way. But my new '08 has neither feature enabled.
__________________
'08 Z4M Coupé LM08602
'16 Golf R
'17 Kawasaki Versys 650
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 09:24 PM   #12
cahme
Private First Class
45
Rep
159
Posts

Drives: '11 E90 335i Sport MT
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

May want to drop BimmerGeeks an email and ask if they're going to support the E85/E86 with the ProTool. They've told me it would be available soon a couple of months ago ...
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2018, 12:07 PM   #13
KevinC
your average JAMF
KevinC's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
1,668
Posts

Drives: '08 Z4MC, '16 Golf R
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hereford, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the tip Cahme.. but no E46/E85-6 support, and very pricey - $170 for a dongle + needed software to do coding. My OBDeleven dongle & software for the Golf cost me ~$60 complete - and does everything under the sun. We really need a tool like this for our cars.
__________________
'08 Z4M Coupé LM08602
'16 Golf R
'17 Kawasaki Versys 650
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2018, 06:31 PM   #14
pungo
Captain
pungo's Avatar
United_States
99
Rep
705
Posts

Drives: 2007 Z4 ///M Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MD

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinC View Post
Thanks for the tip Cahme.. but no E46/E85-6 support, and very pricey - $170 for a dongle + needed software to do coding. My OBDeleven dongle & software for the Golf cost me ~$60 complete - and does everything under the sun. We really need a tool like this for our cars.

Since the car has some age, I don't see too many companies wanting to make an investment for such small amount of sales. Especially when there is already a very powerful tool (NCSExpert) that will do everything you're asking for. You only need an old worthless laptop and a $10 cable, but if you must have the latest wireless tech and front end software, then you'll probably have to pay the price.



Subscribed to see what you end up with to perform a few simple coding operations...
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 02:47 AM   #15
KevinC
your average JAMF
KevinC's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
1,668
Posts

Drives: '08 Z4MC, '16 Golf R
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hereford, AZ

iTrader: (0)

Pungo, if you could prescribe a working cable, and a link to NCSexpert that will install properly on Windows 10, I will dig up a laptop to give it a go.
__________________
'08 Z4M Coupé LM08602
'16 Golf R
'17 Kawasaki Versys 650
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST