ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Navigation, Audio, Bluetooth, Stereo, Electronics Talk
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

05-05-2012, 09:51 PM   #1
ez4
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2006 z4 3.0L

Help with my Aux in and Satellite Radio

Hi Guys,
I am brand new to BMW's, having just purchased a 2006 z4 3.0L. I had an aftermarket Sirius Edge Radio installed which plugs into the aux adapter. The only trouble is after playing for a few moments, the "aux" disappears as an option on the radio and Satellite Radio sound cuts out (The Satellite Radio is still on) and the radio returns to playing either a CD or regular radio. (I also have an aftermarket GPS hard wired into the car in case this information helps.) Does anyone know why I'm having this problem and how it could be fixed. I don't know whether to take the car to the place that installed the aftermarket Satellite Radio or back to a dealer. Thanks in advance for any help.
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2012, 10:20 AM   #2
Stromtech
Private
Rep
Drives: 2004 Z4 3.0i 6-speed Sport

To determine if the aux jack is a problem, why not plug in an MP3 player (Ipod, Iphone etc.) and see if it has the same symptoms.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2012, 03:10 PM   #3
ez4
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2006 z4 3.0L

Reply to testing Aux suggestion

Thanks for the suggestion. I tested the aux input with my apple iPod and it works fine, so I don't think the problem is with that. I tested the Sirius satellite Edge at home on a home dock and it works fine there, so I'm assuming the problem has to be with the install wiring (?) in the Z4... Any thoughts on this anyone? Thanks
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2012, 03:17 PM   #4
-c-
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: bmw

the reason this is dooing that is i bet you have it pluged into the cig lighter thing!