ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

03-02-2008, 12:00 AM   #1
veryhuman
Private First Class
Taiwan
Rep
Drives: 2005 Z4 2.5I

Shifting correctly?

I have a newbie question regardin driving the manual z4. I have no previous experience driving manual vehicles (just lots of Youtube videos...).

At gear 1 and reverse, I'm not able to fully release the clutch (foot off pedal). At gear 1, I find myself shifting to gear 2 while the clutch is still half depressed. (example of clutch action: fully depressed -> mid depressed -> fully depressed (shift to second gear) -> release graduately)

And for reverse, I can never fully release the clutch (foot off pedal), because I'm not used to navigating at that speed in the parking lot going reverse..

So my question is, is riding the clutch (?) like this normal?

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2008, 01:26 AM   #2
shiyan
has no social skills
Rep
Drives: 2003 Z4 3.0 Roadster

if that's only for parking your car then it should be ok, I think
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2008, 12:07 PM   #3
Dammmittt
My favorite sign.
South Korea
Rep
Drives: 2007 M Coupe

The only time you'd really stay on the clutch the way I think you're describing is in traffic or parking like shiyan said. Depending on how you're driving (sporty, sunday grandma, drag racing, average, etc) is gonna depend on how you use the clutch.

The way I usually shift, as I'm putting the clutch in, about half way I take it out of gear, and as I reach about 3/4 clutch I put it in the next gear and slowly release it. If you're going for a hard launch, you probably just need to go harder on the gas and drop the clutch completely when you put it in gear. But if you try it when you don't have the RPMs up, the CDV will make you look stupid

07 ///M Coupe (Premium Package) Black Saphire Ext. Imola Red Int.

Best Website EVER!