ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Navigation, Audio, Bluetooth, Stereo, Electronics Talk
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-30-2019, 12:50 AM   #23
3002 tii
Lieutenant General
3002 tii's Avatar
United_States
1345
Rep
11,762
Posts

Drives: Z4M, X3 35i, i3 REx
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CT

iTrader: (91)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by koruptor View Post
I've seen the NavTool CarPlay unit before but I personally feel the price is too high, even at the discounted rate. However, I appreciate the ability to maintain an OEM look with the NavTool.

I'm more in favor to the idea of replacing the factory flippy screen with something like the AVIN unit. It would be nice to have a fixed touch screen and no moving parts (lack of flippy action means less things break). I'm not sure how the screen will affect visibility though.

I have previously considered doing a flippy screen delete, and then installing something like the Pioneer AVH-3400NEX.
Problem with touch screen is that it’s not very accessible in the factory location. Well at least with my build I know I wouldn’t be able to reach once my seatbelts on.
__________________
Follow for latest mods
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2019, 09:30 PM   #24
GyroF-16
Private
GyroF-16's Avatar
7
Rep
53
Posts

Drives: Z4 M Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Front Range area, CO

iTrader: (0)

Subscribed!

I really like the way you guys are thinking. I also have a factory nav system.
The screen works fine, but the nav really isnt all that useful, and I need the screen for radio tuning, mode selection, etc.

Id LOVE to find a high-res replacement that keeps the essential non-nav functions, and adds iPhone mirroring for nav and other functionality.

Consider me IN if we come across a potential solution that requires a group buy to get the designer/manufacturer to custom-make the parts, wiring harnesses, trim pieces, etc.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2019, 03:47 PM   #25
winnipegz4m
Private
44
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: 2007 Z4M Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Winnipeg, MB

iTrader: (0)

Also subscribed - I've been thinking about trying to track down a non-nav dash and head unit and converting to nav-less - but if there was a way to do a quality retrofit to the current flip up, I'd be down.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2019, 11:33 AM   #26
deemo319
Major
deemo319's Avatar
United_States
1141
Rep
1,372
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Orlando

iTrader: (0)

I have thought this was a good way to update the system...

Appreciate 0
      03-14-2019, 12:49 PM   #27
angelr
Lieutenant
173
Rep
513
Posts

Drives: 07 aw/ir m coupe, 2013 S4
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cedarpines park, Ca

iTrader: (1)

Same here, would love to swap out the factory screen. Looking at doing the same on my S4 and it has a much more modern and useful setup than the M does.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2019, 05:15 PM   #28
SDMCoupe
Private First Class
36
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW Z4M Coupe - Imola Red
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by angelr View Post
Same here, would love to swap out the factory screen. Looking at doing the same on my S4 and it has a much more modern and useful setup than the M does.
For the S4 you should look at RSNAV units.
Appreciate 2
      03-14-2019, 05:59 PM   #29
angelr
Lieutenant
173
Rep
513
Posts

Drives: 07 aw/ir m coupe, 2013 S4
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cedarpines park, Ca

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDMCoupe View Post
For the S4 you should look at RSNAV units.
I'm doing exactly that!
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2019, 12:24 PM   #30
SDMCoupe
Private First Class
36
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW Z4M Coupe - Imola Red
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Any progress on this project?
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2019, 08:19 PM   #31
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Ouchuangbo-...torefresh=true

Anyone tried this one.. it has a photo on the z4.. seller claims its plug and play cable.. I send him my radio photos.. waiting to see what he says
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2019, 08:35 PM   #32
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)



Here's some video on a Korean guy installing this... looks like plug and play.
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 1
      10-25-2019, 08:43 PM   #33
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

https://www.reddit.com/r/BMWZ4/comme...uchscreen_mod/

looks like quite a few people installed it... going to take some work to trim the dash
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2019, 10:13 PM   #34
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

looks like a bust... avin is cheaper than buying from ebay/aliexpress.. Avin support is horrible, go to the f30 section, some of these fail and becomes paper weight.. avin doesn't answer to emails, etc..

same with buying from ebay/aliexpress.. if it fails, its a long way to send back
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2019, 03:04 PM   #35
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

I think im going to invest the time to do this. so there's a ccc/cic version. What do we have on our car ? e85 non nav. I saw off the f30 site the plugs are different.

Also this is the newer model with 8 core snap dragon & wifi support, etc.



https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000...chweb201603_52
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2019, 09:49 PM   #36
SDMCoupe
Private First Class
36
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW Z4M Coupe - Imola Red
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Fairly pricey unit but it straight up says it will work for E85/E86.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3305...chweb201603_52

I have the BMW nav screen so no cutting required.

Last edited by SDMCoupe; 10-27-2019 at 10:00 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2019, 09:42 AM   #37
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Thats a crazy price.. the ad does say you need to drill a bigger hole, from all the install videos, even if you had the factory nav, you need to mod it..

I literally msg all the dealers that sells the px6 and send photos of my stock unit. They say the x3 e83 is the same cabling as the z4 e85/e86.. just need to open up the top.

Also I rather have the newer version with 8 cores and sim card, I can get a cheap data card for this and not share it off my phone..

I check my car, does not seem to block view for me.. so I can get this and still have no issue viewing outside.
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2019, 09:51 AM   #38
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Check out this seller, he has the e85 dash cut and alignment template. I'm waiting to see if he has a 8 core one. for android more core better..

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000...chweb201603_55
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2019, 10:12 PM   #39
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

If you guys pull up the px6 android on aliexpress, a lot of the sellers are doing 30-40% off on 11/11

Some of the 1000 is discounted to 600 on 11/11


This is likely the one I'm getting, 4gb/64gb rom w/ 8 cores (newer proc) 433 sale on 11/11 All the various seller has confirmed it is plug and play. You output this unit into the aux of the car.

One thing you need to be aware of is import tax. I ran through various calculator, it can be as high as 300 dollars on top. But theres also a import tax 2500 rule where for personal item you dont get tax. I have no idea on that.. so i'm taking a chance on a 450 unit.. That can be 800 after tax

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000...chweb201603_55
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2019, 10:26 PM   #40
SDMCoupe
Private First Class
36
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW Z4M Coupe - Imola Red
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

The guy notes that visibility is restricted with these units and goes to the trouble of modifying the mount to lower the screen.

Appreciate 0
      10-29-2019, 10:49 PM   #41
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Yes, I put a piece of cardboard to size, and measure, I'm taller and I have no problem seeing pass the height of that screen. If I was shorter, it would definitely block the view..
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2019, 10:58 PM   #42
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

This is definitely a winter custom project where i dont drive the car.. im working this plus 2 mini coopers this winter. I got packages coming from amazon daily.. lots of work.. first step is securing that 8 core px6 from China.

I also have a 3d printer in the office.. I might end up printing a mount if the one they have doesn't work well
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2019, 08:27 AM   #43
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Cross reference tons of sellers on ali and ebay

The one for 1 series e81 has shorter base than the one for x3. You wont need to make a bigger hole compared to the X3 model. Slow to get back as the time zone difference

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3305...224e3e5f1NMMBd




Narrow it down to this seller.. shorter 1 series base, get the one with no original screen and it's 8 core with lte sim and factory connect wire. Onsale 11/11

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000...chweb201603_55
__________________
-Roranji

Last edited by rsutoratosu; 10-30-2019 at 09:33 AM..
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2019, 10:20 AM   #44
rsutoratosu
Lieutenant
33
Rep
564
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Dont have good news.. either all the vendor are lying or they just dont have the IT experience.. everyone tells me the 8 core will not work on E85.. i dont think it should be an issue but mailing equipment back and forth isn't an option. the 6 core 64 gb one has been validated but it does not have internal sim card. This one needs to use a usb dongle.. i assume the android uses the usb dongle as hot spot to get internet through there.
__________________
-Roranji
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST