ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Suspension and Braking Chat
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

10-28-2019, 11:13 AM   #1
filtercoffee
I like Coffee & Z4s.
Rep
Drives: 2007 Z4MC

Garage List
2007 BMW Z4MC  [0.00]
Tips for being comfortable while working on suspension

I'm new to working on my car, and found that it's always a bit of a PITA. A lot of awkward angles to reach, pushing, shoving. For example, getting the rear springs out, loosening the rear shock to hub assembly bolt, tightening it back on, these things sound simple but are a PITA in reality.

You could call me naive for thinking that working on cars is not a PITA. But maybe you have some general tips for making it less of a pain. Specifically I was thinking about maybe doing RTAB limiters while I'm adjusting my rear ride height, but I know it's going to be another pain, so I'm feeling lazy about it.

Any tips for creature comforts while doing this stuff?
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2019, 07:58 PM   #2
3002 tii
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: Z4 M, X5, GX460

Garage List
I find that if you find yourself exerting yourself or in an awkward position, it means you probably don’t have the right tool (or there’s a better tool out there). But if the car’s on jack stands it shouldn’t be too bad as long as you have the thin wrenches, quality impact gun, spring compressor, and knuckle spreader. You may want to hit some of the known stubborn bolts with WD40 a day or two in advance.
      10-29-2019, 08:26 PM   #3
filtercoffee
I like Coffee & Z4s.
Rep
Drives: 2007 Z4MC

Garage List
2007 BMW Z4MC  [0.00]