ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > Z4 DIY (Do It Yourself) Articles
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-13-2012, 05:03 PM   #1
TNZ4MC
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2006 Z4M coupe
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nashville

Posts: 38
iTrader: (1)

OBD II scanner

I am looking for an OBD scanner that can tell me if the readiness monitors are ready for emissions testing. Anyone have any suggestions?
TNZ4MC is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 01:35 AM   #2
Barryb97
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2006 M coupe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kirkland, WA

Posts: 156
iTrader: (0)

I use the PLX Kiwi 2 wifi adapter and the REV app on my iPhone works pretty well.
__________________
CDV delete, clutch stop, strut bar, SS brake lines, radiator hole cover, brake duct stop removal, Gunmetal M3 reps, RAD wheel locks, M strut caps, roundel under hood, Intravee II ipod adapter, Homelink garage opener, air bag sticker delete, first aid storage under seats, Bumper plugs keyhole cover, painted reflectors, Headlight washer disable, Mstache front lip, Autosolutions SSK, Leather Z arm rest, Stromung exhaust, RPI scoop…
Barryb97 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 07:21 AM   #3
stasha
Private
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

I'm hoping this thread might be able to help me with my problem...
Is the OBDII scanner you're talking about, the software/cable setup that can be purchased from eBay (as an example - http://www.ebay.com/itm/261163472483....m1497.l2649)?

I was told that an autoparts store scanner has limited use in the BMW, hence, I should get this software/patchcord kit.

Well, I'm having problems getting the software loaded on my laptop, despite numerous emails to the seller (from England - " bmw-cable").

Is this what you are using?
If so, can I get some hints on loading it and making it work?
Thanks.
stasha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 07:44 AM   #4
ricanbandit
Captain
 
ricanbandit's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: DC Metro Area

Posts: 732
iTrader: (0)

I use this one with The Torque app on my SGS3, love it great little device

http://www.amazon.com/BAFX-Products-...dbii+bluetooth
__________________
///M Roadster: Stromung Exhaust, Stubby, BMW Performance Shift Knob, RPI scoop, TSW Nurburgring's, Total DeBadge

ricanbandit is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 07:44 AM   #5
Shipkiller
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Shipkiller's Avatar
 
Drives: Me
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

Posts: 1,935
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
ODB-II is the same for all brands. It only reads engine/emissions faults. If you want to read any of the other data on the car, then you need special equipment or software. There is no standard here like there is for ODB-II.

PM me your email address. I will send you my procedures for installing INPA on Windows 7 (including 64).

INPA is the real deal....
__________________
.
.
You never have enough time to do the job properly the first time, but you always seem to have the time to do the job a second time....
Shipkiller is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 08:52 AM   #6
stasha
Private
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

Thanks Rican. I'll check it out.

Shipkiller -- will PM -- BTW, I'm in Portsmouth, VA. "Shipkiller" = aviation? missiles?, subs?
stasha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 08:59 AM   #7
Shipkiller
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Shipkiller's Avatar
 
Drives: Me
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

Posts: 1,935
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
If you can't PM: shipkiller1181 at g m a i l . c o m

If you want a painless 'guaranteed to work' solution, try BMTechnic. I have the Ebay cable and had to search the internet for all the various forms of the BMW software. I learned may things but I went ahead and purchased the BMTechic cable and software even after I had my system up and running.

The BMTechnic software installer is just bulletproof. It just works.

Retired 24year Bubblehead.
__________________
.
.
You never have enough time to do the job properly the first time, but you always seem to have the time to do the job a second time....
Shipkiller is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 09:21 AM   #8
stasha
Private
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

All I want to do is register my new battery without paying the stealer $200 -- and so the AC/Heat and NAV screen will start working again.
stasha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 09:26 AM   #9
Shipkiller
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Shipkiller's Avatar
 
Drives: Me
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

Posts: 1,935
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
BMW Z4's do NOT need to register a new battery.

Sounds like your car is now in Transport Mode.
__________________
.
.
You never have enough time to do the job properly the first time, but you always seem to have the time to do the job a second time....
Shipkiller is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 09:47 AM   #10
stasha
Private
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shipkiller View Post
BMW Z4's do NOT need to register a new battery.

Sounds like your car is now in Transport Mode.
Yep. Happened after I had a dead battery. How do I exit Transport?
stasha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 11:08 AM   #11
Shipkiller
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Shipkiller's Avatar
 
Drives: Me
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

Posts: 1,935
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Once you get your software/cable up and running, I think INPA will do it, but I am not sure since I have never had to do this myself.
__________________
.
.
You never have enough time to do the job properly the first time, but you always seem to have the time to do the job a second time....
Shipkiller is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-13-2013, 12:15 AM   #12
Steenos
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 Z4M Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tennessee

Posts: 256
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 M Coupe  [0.00]
Shipkiller I'd like to talk to you about getting INPA installed on my machine if possible. Thanks
Steenos is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-13-2013, 10:14 AM   #13
Shipkiller
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Shipkiller's Avatar
 
Drives: Me
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

Posts: 1,935
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steenos View Post
Shipkiller I'd like to talk to you about getting INPA installed on my machine if possible. Thanks
It will have to be via email. I am currently in Hawaii for the next 35 days.
__________________
.
.
You never have enough time to do the job properly the first time, but you always seem to have the time to do the job a second time....
Shipkiller is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-13-2013, 10:51 AM   #14
Steenos
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 Z4M Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tennessee

Posts: 256
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 M Coupe  [0.00]
Have a great trip! I bought this cable on ebay http://www.ebay.com/itm/271119742928...S:3160&vxp=mtr

The cable comes with INPA software. I'll let you know when it arrives.
Steenos is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-13-2013, 12:31 PM   #15
stasha
Private
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

Steenos,
I purchased mine from eBay at http://www.ebay.com/itm/261163472483...84.m1497.l2649

The ads are very similar. I suspect it all comes from a Romanian contact.

Will be curious if you have probs. I have probs getting the Virtual program up -- but Ship sent me some instructions that might be a work around. Have yet to carve time out to try them.
stasha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 01:14 PM   #16
thelinux
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 Z4 3si
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Irvine, CA

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

If you want to buy creader scanner, it's really cheap here. Only $59 and free shipping. I think bavaauto sells it for $179.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Cread...530561793.html
thelinux is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 02:16 PM   #17
StickMon
My other car is on Mars
 
StickMon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 MR
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lo-Cal

Posts: 1,147
iTrader: (0)

The Product Description on the Creader is classic!
StickMon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 04:58 PM   #18
stasha
Private
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

I read the product description -- what in the world does it do?? It looks like a Chinese person who took English in HS is translating using a dictionary and thesaurus.

Can you tell me what the Creader does? Why would I want it?
Thanks.
stasha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 05:49 PM   #19
StickMon
My other car is on Mars
 
StickMon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 MR
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lo-Cal

Posts: 1,147
iTrader: (0)

Actually, it was probably in Chinese and run through something like Google Translate.
Looks like a generic OBD-II scanner. I have an Actron I use on the other cars, but the generic ones aren't very good for BMWs.
I carry a Peake Research in the trunk for use on the Z, and use INPA and DIS for deeper probing.
StickMon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 06:04 PM   #20
stasha
Private
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

You're right -- it's like a Google translation.
What is a "Peake Research"?
stasha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 06:26 PM   #21
thelinux
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 Z4 3si
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Irvine, CA

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stasha View Post
I read the product description -- what in the world does it do?? It looks like a Chinese person who took English in HS is translating using a dictionary and thesaurus.

Can you tell me what the Creader does? Why would I want it?
Thanks.
http://blog.bavauto.com/10813/bmw-an...ing-live-data/
thelinux is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 07:02 PM   #22
StickMon
My other car is on Mars
 
StickMon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 MR
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lo-Cal

Posts: 1,147
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stasha View Post
You're right -- it's like a Google translation.
What is a "Peake Research"?
This gismo. Reads proper BMW hex codes and will reset not only SES light but service intervals as well.
StickMon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST