ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Suspension and Braking Chat
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

06-28-2012, 02:41 PM   #1
nobrakese28
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: Z4M Coupe

Rallyroad Porsche caliper conversion

Hey folks,

Is any one running this kit? If so do you like/love it?

http://www.rallyroad.net/content/e46...apter-brackets
http://www.rallyroad.net/content/e46...rembo-brackets

I don't think you can beat the price. You could probably do a front and rear kit for under 1500.

-Marco
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2012, 04:52 PM   #2
nekky
Wagon life
Canada
Rep
Drives: '16 328d M Sport Touring

Yep so cheap.

What I've heard is that the Porsche calipers are not built with proper 50/50 weight distribution brake bias.

But I'm not an engineer, so I really have no idea. Can anyone else chime in? This probably is the cheapest way to fit Brembos on the car.
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2012, 05:20 PM   #3
mfanatic325
///M-fanatic
Taiwan
Rep
Drives: '01 911 Turbo

I wouldn't waste time on a kit that isn't meant for our specific car to begin with. The design criteria are different for every car, and only those engineered specifically for the car should be considered; otherwise you'd be seriously risking performance from OEM standards.

It's okay to go with more knock-off type mods when they're tried and true or you fully understand the benefits/consequences. In the case of brakes, I would no forego the superb OEM setup for a kit that's meant to be on some other car; even if it were plug and play and/or super cheap...

All in all, this seems like a ghetto way of going about it
I would only potentially consider doing something like this if I knew the car needed bling and it was strictly a show car and I couldn't afford the real units made for the car specifically.

Last edited by mfanatic325; 09-25-2012 at 05:26 PM..
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2012, 08:21 PM   #4