ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Wheels and Tires
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-05-2012, 04:51 PM   #1
seank
enthusiast
 
seank's Avatar
 
Drives: e30 m3,e90 wagon,sprinter,z4m
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sacramento, ca

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (3)

Delete TPMS

How do I delete my TPMS?

It is definately the technology that I don't need in my car. I can check my own tire pressures, thank you very much bmw.
seank is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2012, 05:01 PM   #2
Finnegan
Major General
 
Finnegan's Avatar
 
Drives: Sapphire Black/Black Z4Mc
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: At the track..or wishing I were at the track

Posts: 6,290
iTrader: (17)

Looks like fuse 45 runs the TPMS. Here is the fuse layout.

However, the 06 models used the older ABS sensor for TPMS, so pulling the fuse probably wouldn't be a great idea. After MY06 (where the cutoff is IDK) the newer TPMS wheel/stem modules are used. Pulling the fuse there might do the trick, but again, I cannot attest to what other systems might be impacted by removing the fuse. Similar discussion going on over here today which may be worth taking a look at as well.

Last edited by Finnegan; 06-05-2012 at 05:19 PM.
Finnegan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2012, 05:28 PM   #3
seank
enthusiast
 
seank's Avatar
 
Drives: e30 m3,e90 wagon,sprinter,z4m
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sacramento, ca

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (3)

Thanks Ron. I wish there was a computer check box, so we could pick what we want the car to monitor.

I will look into it.
seank is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-06-2012, 10:09 AM   #4
BIMMERGUY91
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 Sapphire Black Z4 M Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Huntsville, AL

Posts: 694
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by seank View Post
Thanks Ron. I wish there was a computer check box, so we could pick what we want the car to monitor.

I will look into it.
That would be nice wouldn't it. I'm not sure that you can turn off tpms though I tried on my genesis coupe with no success
__________________
07 Z4MC #1019/1815
2010 328i M Sport
84 318i M50 Swapped
97 M3
BIMMERGUY91 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-06-2012, 10:13 AM   #5
Pheonix
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 M Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 622
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2007 BMW/Z4MC  [0.00]
Good information! I will try and pull the fuse as well to see if it works. In the mean time, i deleted my TPMS with a piece of Black tape over the yellow light
Pheonix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-06-2012, 11:18 PM   #6
seank
enthusiast
 
seank's Avatar
 
Drives: e30 m3,e90 wagon,sprinter,z4m
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sacramento, ca

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (3)

There's a light?

I have a 2007 (late 2006 production date) and have an F'ing TPMS. By the time I read this text, I have already switched the sensor over and added 5oz to balance the tires.

I want to know about this light thing.
seank is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 07:08 AM   #7
Pheonix
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 M Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 622
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2007 BMW/Z4MC  [0.00]
There is a yellow warning light on the dash to indicate out of range tire pressure. The shitty part is that you won't know which tire is low and what the pressure is (so what is the pointF
for my car, the light will flash when i first started the car then go away after a mile or so of driving. I got sick of looking at it so i cover it up with a piece of black electrical tape.
Pheonix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 09:14 AM   #8
BIMMERGUY91
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 Sapphire Black Z4 M Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Huntsville, AL

Posts: 694
iTrader: (1)

Yeah my moms Santa fe shows you which tire it is and it's a damn Hyundai!!!! Come on BMW!
__________________
07 Z4MC #1019/1815
2010 328i M Sport
84 318i M50 Swapped
97 M3
BIMMERGUY91 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 09:47 AM   #9
Stromtech
Private
 
Stromtech's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 Z4 3.0i 6-speed Sport
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Victoria BC

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by seank View Post
How do I delete my TPMS?

It is definately the technology that I don't need in my car. I can check my own tire pressures, thank you very much bmw.
I agree, you can't beat regular tire pressure checks and most sportscar drivers are in tune with any subtle feedback changes from the car, that's why we drive them. But there are many people out there that turn the key and drive oblivious to any feedback the driving experience provides...IMHO these people quite rightly need these and most other idiot lights.
Stromtech is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 10:42 AM   #10
SCHMOUPE
Lieutenant Colonel
 
SCHMOUPE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Z4M Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,580
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2007 Z4M Coupe  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pheonix View Post
There is a yellow warning light on the dash to indicate out of range tire pressure. The shitty part is that you won't know which tire is low and what the pressure is (so what is the pointF
for my car, the light will flash when i first started the car then go away after a mile or so of driving. I got sick of looking at it so i cover it up with a piece of black electrical tape.
I wonder if you can open the tach and either unsolder or break the LED to permanently get rid of it
__________________
The Raspinator

Gruppe M CAI / Euro Headers / Rogue Engineering X-pipe / RE Diablo Exhaust
SCHMOUPE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 12:14 PM   #11
seank
enthusiast
 
seank's Avatar
 
Drives: e30 m3,e90 wagon,sprinter,z4m
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sacramento, ca

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
i deleted my TPMS with a piece of Black tape over the yellow light
and i thought you had some sophisticated trick. that's funny. that's the last time I ask for DIY advice from you
seank is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 12:50 PM   #12
v3.2mc
Not a New Member
 
v3.2mc's Avatar
 
Drives: with both hands and both feet
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: midwest

Posts: 804
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pheonix View Post
... The shitty part is that you won't know which tire is low and what the pressure is (so what is the pointF
for my car, the light will flash when i first started the car then go away after a mile or so of driving...
the yellow light comes on when there is a 4psi difference in any tire compaired to the previously user-set pressure. the light turns red when the difference goes to 7psi.

example: if i fill all 4 tires to 30psi and set the system to that, then a yellow light comes on... i know that 1 or more of the tires is now at 26psi.

when the yellow light is on after startup, it's a good indication that there is a tire just on the edge of 4psi. as you drive, the air inside the tire heats up and increases the pressure enough to fall inside the safe driving range in compairison to the user-set pressure.
__________________
#1498E86 | Sepang Bronze | Dark Sepang Leather | Carbon Leather Trim
v3.2mc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 03:35 PM   #13
prodigal_m
Member
 
prodigal_m's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Space Gray/Imola M Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Wisconsin

Posts: 178
iTrader: (1)

I have not tried it myself; however, I was told by Turner that the Macht Schnell TPMS/RDC Emulation Module "should" work for our cars even though its not listed as an option on their website

http://www.turnermotorsport.com/p-22...-e88-2007.aspx

I almost bought it last year but I ended up getting a good deal for some TPMS...That being said, I run my R compounds without TPMS.
prodigal_m is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 03:45 PM   #14
Pheonix
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 M Coupe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 622
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2007 BMW/Z4MC  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by v3.2mc View Post
the yellow light comes on when there is a 4psi difference in any tire compaired to the previously user-set pressure. the light turns red when the difference goes to 7psi.

example: if i fill all 4 tires to 30psi and set the system to that, then a yellow light comes on... i know that 1 or more of the tires is now at 26psi.

when the yellow light is on after startup, it's a good indication that there is a tire just on the edge of 4psi. as you drive, the air inside the tire heats up and increases the pressure enough to fall inside the safe driving range in compairison to the user-set pressure.
Yes, that is how the TPMS works. However, i don't have the TPMS sensors on my BBS RS-GT so the light will come on all the time. I could try those suggestions above but it was easier just by placing a piece of tape over it.
Pheonix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 05:22 PM   #15
BIMMERGUY91
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 Sapphire Black Z4 M Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Huntsville, AL

Posts: 694
iTrader: (1)

If you still have your tpms sensors you could put them in a sealed tube and then pressurize it to 30 psi and stick it somewhere in the car.

http://www.tundrasolutions.com/forum...ures-included/
__________________
07 Z4MC #1019/1815
2010 328i M Sport
84 318i M50 Swapped
97 M3
BIMMERGUY91 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-13-2012, 08:02 AM   #16
Skuronen
Private
 
Skuronen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Z4M Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilmington, NC

Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Did anyone try pulling that fuse 45 yet to see if the tpsm light goes out as suggested by Finnegan?
__________________
Skuronen is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-13-2012, 10:58 AM   #17
seank
enthusiast
 
seank's Avatar
 
Drives: e30 m3,e90 wagon,sprinter,z4m
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sacramento, ca

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (3)

No. I installed the sensors by the time I saw the post. I am not paying to have the removed to see if it works. I would like to know the answer though. I have 5oz of weights on some wheels due to the sensor.
seank is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-13-2012, 11:13 AM   #18
jragan
Imola Lover
 
jragan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Imola Red M Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Posts: 733
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by strom View Post
I agree, you can't beat regular tire pressure checks and most sportscar drivers are in tune with any subtle feedback changes from the car, that's why we drive them. But there are many people out there that turn the key and drive oblivious to any feedback the driving experience provides...IMHO these people quite rightly need these and most other idiot lights.
The sensor is a carry-over from the fact that the non-///Ms come stock with run-flats so you may not know that you have a flat.
__________________
His: RIP-"Ruby" E86 ///M Coupe: Pics Track Pics Short Vids Long Vids
Hers: 997-1 C4S: Pics
jragan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-13-2012, 11:55 AM   #19
Denton
Private
 
Drives: '11.5 328xiT/6 - '99 M3/2/5
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sterling, VA

Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)

Very, very, VERY interested in this product.
Denton is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-13-2012, 12:44 PM   #20
Skuronen
Private
 
Skuronen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Z4M Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilmington, NC

Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I suppose if that fuse is only responsible for the TPMS, then there should be no other side effects to pulling it. I just want the indicator off without using black tape. That emulation module is intriguing, but a gamble as it is not listed for E85/86.
__________________

Last edited by Skuronen; 06-13-2012 at 12:54 PM.
Skuronen is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-13-2012, 05:00 PM   #21
epbrown
Colonel
 
epbrown's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW M Coupe, Porsche Boxster S
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 2,133
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jragan View Post
The sensor is a carry-over from the fact that the non-///Ms come stock with run-flats so you may not know that you have a flat.
No. The USDOT mandated tire pressure monitoring for all passenger cars starting in 2007 model year. BMW just happened to already be doing it on some models.
epbrown is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-13-2012, 06:58 PM   #22
seank
enthusiast
 
seank's Avatar
 
Drives: e30 m3,e90 wagon,sprinter,z4m
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sacramento, ca

Posts: 1,458
iTrader: (3)

Skuronen can you try it and lift up your tape to see if it is gone? It would be helpful to the community and a benefit to yourself.
seank is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST