ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > Z4 DIY (Do It Yourself) Articles
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-24-2012, 04:18 PM   #1
silver28
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 BMW Z4 3.0SI
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)

I bought this - USB/SD Player

Hey folks,

Been reading up on the whole AUX input thread - was going to buy that wire but up here in Canada, its like $75 from the stealerships! So checked eBay, and I found this thing.

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Car-MP3-Playe...item33636f4969

Just got it and works fairly well. It does not plug into the AUX input, but the CD changer input and takes power from the main plug. So essentially, the stereo detects it as a CD changer, but its really a media player.

So far, so good - I just tucked the whole thing in that little panel - I will just leave an SD card in there packed with music and don't plan on using the aux or USB input on it.

Anyone else have one of these? I think its a great buy, considering an aux input wire is $35US. I get to use my steering wheel controls and no need to have an iPod dangling off to the side.
__________________
silver28 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2012, 05:54 PM   #2
XMetal
Major
 
XMetal's Avatar
 
Drives: '04 X5, '08 Z4MC
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal

Posts: 1,198
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2004 BMW X5  [0.00]
2008 BMW Z4MCoupe  [0.00]
Does this connect to the back of the radio head unit? or Does it use the 3/6 pin connectors of the CD changer in the back of the console? The ebay picture showed a 16/12 pin connector, which doesn't look like the CD Changer connector.

Does it show MP3 tag info on the radio?

Look interesting...do you have a picture of the installation? Thanks.
XMetal is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2012, 10:11 PM   #3
silver28
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 BMW Z4 3.0SI
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)

So how the harness works is pretty good - since the module needs power (+, -, ACC, bus) from the main harness, you actually plug in the main OEM harness into the new harness, which has an extra connector. Then, the new harness goes straight into the head unit with the power wires being spliced into that new harness already.

For the smaller CD changer harness, I just took mine out (don't have a changer) and plugged in the 10pin connector (white). It had only 3 wires connected to it, same as the OEM CD Changer wire.

The pic is misleading...if you do want to use your CD Changer, you will have to have that switch which I did not get.

So the kit was pretty good to include a premade harness that splits the power. Converserly and as per the pic, they could have just not included a harness and you would have to splice a +, -, acc, and bus yourself.

This is the actual harness I got - so you can see you plug in your oem one in the left one, and the right one goes into the head unit. The white plug has the CD controls in there.




Sorry, I don't have pics, I forgot to take them...and not dying to take out my vent again lol.
__________________
silver28 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2012, 08:28 AM   #4
SCHMOUPE
Lieutenant Colonel
 
SCHMOUPE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Z4M Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,586
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2007 Z4M Coupe  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver28 View Post
So how the harness works is pretty good - since the module needs power (+, -, ACC, bus) from the main harness, you actually plug in the main OEM harness into the new harness, which has an extra connector. Then, the new harness goes straight into the head unit with the power wires being spliced into that new harness already.

For the smaller CD changer harness, I just took mine out (don't have a changer) and plugged in the 10pin connector (white). It had only 3 wires connected to it, same as the OEM CD Changer wire.

The pic is misleading...if you do want to use your CD Changer, you will have to have that switch which I did not get.

So the kit was pretty good to include a premade harness that splits the power. Converserly and as per the pic, they could have just not included a harness and you would have to splice a +, -, acc, and bus yourself.

This is the actual harness I got - so you can see you plug in your oem one in the left one, and the right one goes into the head unit. The white plug has the CD controls in there.




Sorry, I don't have pics, I forgot to take them...and not dying to take out my vent again lol.
so did you have to take the dash apart? thats the dreaded part that I dont want to do because I know I will break something in the process
__________________
The Raspinator

Gruppe M CAI / Euro Headers / Rogue Engineering X-pipe / RE Diablo Exhaust
SCHMOUPE is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2012, 09:04 AM   #5
silver28
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 BMW Z4 3.0SI
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)

There's a few threads going on how to remove the vent and the stereo. It took me 2 minutes to remove the vents, and about 1 minute to remove the stereo...was 2 screws. Its extremely easy with the instructions...don't let that be a hindrance to do this or other mods!
__________________
silver28 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2012, 10:06 AM   #6
ShakyDog
2008 X3 Jet Black/Tan
 
ShakyDog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 3.0i Alpine White/Red
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Missouri

Posts: 316
iTrader: (3)

Does it show MP3 tag info on the head unit?

I was amazed how easy it was to remove dash items from my X3, which has almost the same vent/head unit setup.

Steve
ShakyDog is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2012, 11:41 PM   #7
jimbojsb
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 06 Z4MR TiAG + Red
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

Steering wheel controls work? Do you have the premium / DSP audio?
jimbojsb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-31-2012, 10:43 AM   #8
silver28
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 BMW Z4 3.0SI
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 26
iTrader: (0)

It doesn't show MP3 tags, shows track 1, track 2, etc.

All steering controls work - volume and change tracks.

I have the base business system with 10 speakers? No navigation or CD changer. Basically I had to unplug the white CD changer plug (did nothing) and plug the ebay one it.

For $85us, its not too shabby. I hate controlling thru my iphone...
__________________
silver28 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-13-2012, 01:11 AM   #9
markZ4MC
Private
 
Drives: Z4MC
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary

Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)

Thanks OP. I just ordered one.

I asked if they could provide the switch for the CD changer, but they don't sell it.

Really no point in the CD changer now anyways.
markZ4MC is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-27-2012, 04:04 PM   #10
markZ4MC
Private
 
Drives: Z4MC
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary

Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)

Never got round to installing mine because I want to keep my 6 disc. If anyone is interested it is for sale in the classifieds for $75.
markZ4MC is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 07:40 AM   #11
stasha
Private
 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

I hope someone's still watching this thread...
I'm interested in this MP3/SD capability, and was wondering three things:
1) How's it working for those who installed one a few months ago?

2) Where can you get the switch in order to switch between CD changer and the MP3/SD function? (I saw one eBay ad that shows it, but they don't offer it.)

3) Does anyone know of a patch cord that would allow the title of the MP3 song/album to appear on the BMW screen -- as opposed to only the track number?
Thanks.
stasha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2013, 08:17 AM   #12
mike519
Captain
 
mike519's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Z4MR Sepang
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Waterloo, Ontario

Posts: 702
iTrader: (0)

Not sure if this will work but I imagine it would. There are scripts out there that let you take a USB thumb drive and have it mimic an iPod. I did this for my Ford with Sync. I imagine you could use it on an SD card as well.

This would then have the unit look like an iPod and give you playlist capability and show tracks (as long as the ID3 tags are correct in the audio files).

I'm thinking on the fly here so it may not work as described in our cars but works great in the Ford. I bought a 32GB USB drive for it and have it hidden away so it's like a built in iPod.
__________________
2006 Z4M Roadster, Light Sepang on Sepang -
Michelin Pilot Super Sports on Apex EC7s,
Supersprint Race exhaust, CDV delete, clutch stop
Upcoming - Vanos rebuild, Coilovers, SSK
mike519 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST