ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Navigation, Audio, Bluetooth, Stereo, Electronics Talk
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-26-2011, 01:17 PM   #1
Abtin
New Member
 
Drives: bmw z4
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Re-activating alarm security system

Hello. I have a 2003 z4 3.0. My car has the factory alarm system as indicated by the little bubble underneath the rear view mirror. However, the alarm system never activates when i lock the doors with the remote. I asked the dealer how much it would cost for them to reprogam it to activate the alarm and they said $210.

Is there any way to have someone turn it on for less? Is there a way to do ot myself? Or is it something ONLY the dealer can do?

I don't want to pay $210 just to "turn on" an alarm system my car already has...

My car came with the sport and premium package w/nav and changer if that helps.
Abtin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 02:01 PM   #2
Finnegan
Major General
 
Finnegan's Avatar
 
Drives: Sapphire Black/Black Z4Mc
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: At the track..or wishing I were at the track

Posts: 6,441
iTrader: (17)

I don't know the ins and outs of your model year and alarm, but "activation" (or any programming) can usually be found at a good independent shop for 80-100 bucks, sometimes less. The worst deals around can be found at the stealer....
Finnegan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 03:19 PM   #3
psygnosis
Major
 
psygnosis's Avatar
 
Drives: '04 Z4 3.0i Sport
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: WA

Posts: 1,019
iTrader: (0)

Just because you have the clown nose, doesn't mean the alarm is installed.
__________________
Straightaways are for fast cars, Corners are for fast drivers.
psygnosis is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 03:58 PM   #4
Abtin
New Member
 
Drives: bmw z4
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Hmm. Is there any way to find out if it does have the alarm?
Abtin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 04:54 PM   #5
3002 tii
Major General
 
3002 tii's Avatar
 
Drives: flat out
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NNJ

Posts: 8,297
iTrader: (46)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abtin View Post
Hmm. Is there any way to find out if it does have the alarm?
get in your car, lock the doors (which activates the alarm if you have one), then open the doors.

or lock the doors, and then open the trunk using the key (not the remote).

but chances are you don't have one.
__________________

Recaro | Volk | AST | Vorshlag | Quaife | Stoptech | Active Autowerke | BMW Performance

Click here for my track videos
3002 tii is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 03:51 AM   #6
Abtin
New Member
 
Drives: bmw z4
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

I have the little black nubs (motion sensors) on my window vents, i have the light bubble on the mirror, and i have the premium package with upgraded sound system and cd changer. Basically the original owner got every possible upgrade in this thing. I'm fairly certain i have the alarm but it has been deactivated by the second owner.

My question is, what's the cheapest way to turn it back on?
I also wouldn't mind having them make it so the lights flash when i lock/unlock the doors with the remote.
Abtin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 07:07 AM   #7
Smurfskier
Private
 
Drives: 2003 z4 3.0
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Binghamton, Ny

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

The nubs on the window vents? How big are they? There are nubs that hide the screws in the top corner of the air vents. Are you confusing these with a sensor?
Smurfskier is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 08:36 AM   #8
3002 tii
Major General
 
3002 tii's Avatar
 
Drives: flat out
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NNJ

Posts: 8,297
iTrader: (46)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abtin View Post
I have the little black nubs (motion sensors) on my window vents, i have the light bubble on the mirror, and i have the premium package with upgraded sound system and cd changer. Basically the original owner got every possible upgrade in this thing. I'm fairly certain i have the alarm but it has been deactivated by the second owner.

My question is, what's the cheapest way to turn it back on?
I also wouldn't mind having them make it so the lights flash when i lock/unlock the doors with the remote.

Factory alarm was NOT an option. The light bubble, aka clown nose is on every car. My car came fully loaded, sport package, navi, bluetooth, etc... and the alarm was not part of any package. It was something you had to purchase separately from the catalog.

But if you want to double check, click on my thread where I linked where to buy, and instally DIY. The DIY will show what parts should be where (ie parts under the hood or behind the bumper, not something you'd spot from the interior).
__________________

Recaro | Volk | AST | Vorshlag | Quaife | Stoptech | Active Autowerke | BMW Performance

Click here for my track videos

Last edited by 3002 tii; 04-29-2011 at 09:53 AM.
3002 tii is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2011, 09:05 AM   #9
jragan
Imola Lover
 
jragan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Imola Red M Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

Posts: 733
iTrader: (0)

The easiest way to tell if you have an alarm physically installed is to see if you have a hood pin switch. You'll only have a hood pin switch if the alarm is present. The hood pin switch is found at the firewall at the intersection of where the strut-tower cross members meet at the firewall (forms a little V out from the firewall and if an alarm is installed, there will be a black module with a pin switch sticking out of the top of it right there at the base of the V).

If the hood pin switch is there (I doubt it will be) then it comes down to just getting the alarm programmed at any indy shop (since the Z4 electronics were based on the previous generation most Indy shops have the technology to be able to program them).

If the hood pin switch is not there, then you'll need to purchase the alarm, install it (takes 30 minutes, a little more if you have a roadster) and then get it activated.
__________________
His: RIP-"Ruby" E86 ///M Coupe: Pics Track Pics Short Vids Long Vids
Hers: 997-1 C4S: Pics
jragan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2011, 07:31 PM   #10
Abtin
New Member
 
Drives: bmw z4
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Sweet thanks for the info guys. You were right. No hoodpin switch. =(

I read somewhere on the forums that you can get the alarm for $40? That includes the motion sensors and everything?
Abtin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2011, 06:41 AM   #11
Z4Murder
Major
 
Z4Murder's Avatar
 
Drives: > speed limit
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY

Posts: 1,048
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abtin View Post
Sweet thanks for the info guys. You were right. No hoodpin switch. =(

I read somewhere on the forums that you can get the alarm for $40? That includes the motion sensors and everything?
no motion sensors. $40 for the tilt sensor, siren, hood pin switch. also monitors door locks and rear hatch
__________________
2007 TiAg ///MCoupe
{} Dinan strut bars {} ZHP knob {} RPI scoop {} Ultimate Pedals {} RE Diablo {} 9500ix {} 3.91 TMS gears {} Forgestar F14 {} Gruppe-M {} Nitto NT05 {} TMS pullies {} Zeck CDV {} RE tranny mounts {} Tekarbon {} Mstache 2 {}
New ride: '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Hemi... No more snow for the M!
Z4Murder is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-01-2011, 10:57 AM   #12
a_riddler
Bimmer Noob
 
a_riddler's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Z4MC;08 MBZ E350 4Matic
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 528
iTrader: (5)

You can sometimes fine guys with SSS/Progman or the older DIS to do the programming for you at local bmw car/coffee meets.

I picked up an OBDII cable from ebay and did the programming myself.
__________________

08 Z4MC /// DKF Exhaust, Underdrive pulleys, Stubby, RPI Scoop, Clutch Stop, TCK Coilovers, Strong-Strut, Apex EC-7's,
APR Splitter/Wing, AFE Intake, Matte Grill, ZHP Shift Knob, UUC Tranny Mounts, Stoptech SS brake lines, CF Badges
a_riddler is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-28-2011, 01:55 PM   #13
satyros
New Member
 
Drives: 2005 Z4 3.0i
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

Hi all, my drivers side door will not open!!!! The pin goes up and down when i lock/unlock it but the door will not open...anyone has any ideas what it might be? |Thanks!
satyros is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST