ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

09-10-2011, 08:34 PM   #1
mhughett
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2007 Z4 M Coupe

Day 1 at the HDPE

The Kansas City and Sunbelt chapters of the BMWCCA are having a 2-day HDPE this weekend here in Oklahoma at Hallett Raceway. This is a 1.8 mile road course with a lot of elevation changes and 10 turns. I'm a relative rookie as this is only the second time I've done this. I'm amazed at the diversity of the cars at this event. I'd say close to half the cars in the event are modified enough to be considered race cars with interiors gutted, roll bars, R tires, etc. One of the instructors had an E30 with the aforementioned modifications and the addition of an LS-1 engine and a huge rear spoiler. I can only imagine that engine in a 2,000 lb. car.

In my group, the only cars I couldn't keep up with were a Z-06 vette and an E-92 M3. Keep in mind that my car is bone stock with Hankook V12 tires and stock pads. My instructor has the exact same car as I do (same color too) but his mods included coilovers, H-10 pads, camber change and Dunlop Star Spec tires. Big difference. It takes a while for a "rookie" like me to get the courage up to really get the most out of this car but it's fun trying. One more day tomorrow and we'll see if I can reel in the E92.

Retired--2007 Z4 M Coupe (Imola Red/Black, Premium Pkg, Heated Seats, XM, Bimmian stubby antenna, CDV delete, Apex EC-7--Anthracite, Goodyear F1 Asymetric 2.
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2011, 09:40 PM   #2
Aries326
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 Z4 3.0si, 2013 E92 M3 ZCP

Garage List
2013 E92 M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW Z4 3.0si  [9.00]
Got pics or videos?
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2011, 11:13 PM   #3
pal
Captain
Rep
Drives: Z4 M Coupe