ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

03-17-2014, 10:23 AM   #1
Arsonism
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: '08 M Coupe

Taping at the Track

At the end of this week I have an opportunity to hit the track for the first time in the new Z and I was thinking about going out and buying what looks to be some painters tape and applying it to the front of the car. I've never done this before as in my old Z I could have cared less about rock chips, but I wanted to see what everyone's attitude is towards people who do this.

Is it a totally "noob" thing to do?
Does it really help from rock chips?
Is it worth doing anything more than the front bumper?

TIA

(super excited for the first track day in the M Coupe )
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2014, 10:32 AM   #2
Kgolf31
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 2007 Z4MC, 2012 128i

I have a clear bra on my car, so essentially it is doing what tape would be doing.

Taping the headlights would help protect the lens from rubber being kicked up...or what I like to call it OPR (Other People's Rubber)

The tape will help you just reduce cleanup from rubber getting hit and some occasional rock chips. IMO I think it is worth the time to tape it up
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2014, 10:44 AM   #3
Arsonism
Captain
United_States
Rep

Forgot to also ask, best kind of tape? I assume everyone just uses multi-surface painters tape but never checked into that.

Thanks for the speedy response Kgolf!
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2014, 11:16 AM   #4
Gladius
Two Wheels or Four?
United_States
Rep
Drives: '18 Perf Edition m240i