ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

01-10-2014, 03:09 PM   #1
HEY32G
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: Z4 sdrive35is

Starting To Shop For a Z4MR.....Tell Me If I'm On The Right Track

I have been keeping an eye on Z4MR's for about six months and will more than likely pull the trigger in February or March. Financially that timing works the best for me. Please tell me if I'm thinking correctly or not on a few things.

I have tested a few and love the car. I've been tracking prices and see what seem like a few good buys. Also, see some that will never sell at the prices they are listing and thus have been for sale for a long time.

A little background, I had a bad experience with a Porsche 968 about 10 years ago that left me really skittish about reliability and cost of ownership. The thing killed me with constant $600 repairs. I also have a tendency to get bored with cars and trade them a lot. I really don't want to do that with the M. I really want to keep this car a very long time, so I want to be very careful. I've been burned on aftermarket warranties so to me that isn't even an issue. "Your booklet says gaskets!" "Yes, but not THAT gasket".

I am trying to keep it around $26k, with as little mileage as possible. I am thinking I might try to just buy from a BMW dealer, that way they can check the VANOS and valves and not charge me. Other dealers probably can't do that. Would it be better to buy a car from a BMW dealer with more miles than one from Joe Bob's Used Car Lot with very few miles? Am I giving too much credit to BMW dealers?