ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > Z4 DIY (Do It Yourself) Articles
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

04-01-2012, 02:47 PM   #1
rkstar9
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: '10 X5 3.5D

focusing lens in my headlight assembly is shaking

The round lens the bulb shines trough on the low beam headlight shakes while Im driving.

When im at high speeds on bumpy roads behind people they think im a police officer so they pull over.

only the right hand head light does this however I found out there is a TSB for this where the solution is to replace the entire assembly.

on newer cars (E92, E93 (3 Series)) with similar problems the TSB suggest "Install an additional headlight arm support to both headlights P/N 51 64 7 019 777 (Left)"

So my questions are:
For someone who has opened a headlight
1. can I get such support arms for a z4?
1 If I get aftermarket headlights will that fix the problem?
or is there a service out there that will install angel eyes and secure that lense for me?

It seems there is no way to answer this without removing the bumper and pulling out the headlight.

anyone with experience opening the lights I would appreciate any input
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2013, 06:47 PM   #2
RecycledTeen
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: Looking for E85

Question

{bump, since search results came up empty}

Have had the "headlight flickers when driving over bumps" issue with my driver's side light ever since I picked up the car and since it wasn't "too bad" I lived with it. For the record, the passenger side is fine. Fast forward to this weekend and pulled bumper off to replace lower center grill, so decided to look at that headlight.

It appears the off-centered plastic piece inside the headlight that is connected to the top adjuster is "cracked" (identified by arrow, the other part of the plastic piece is recessed, out of view)