ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Engine, Exhaust, Drivetrain Modifications
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

10-20-2014, 03:32 PM   #1
tiltmode43
I plead the 5th.
United_States
Rep
Drives: '18 Frontier Pro-4X, '06 Z4MR

Cool Custom Performance Innovations Stepped Headers - Review + Pics!

The fit and finish of these headers exceeded my expectations. Happy customer? You bet! So happy, in fact, I wanted to share the results with the community. Figured my Z4M brethren should know about this option as well, not all the fun should be saved for the M3 guys I am not an engineer nor a certified mechanic, but I'll give my feedback from an average enthusiast's point of view.

Seeing as great gains can be had with headers, the time came and after perusing a number of threads here, I decided to go where most of the S54 owners hang out - m3forum.net. After researching quite a bit, I decided to try something a little different from most ZPosters and go with the Custom Performance Innovations stepped headers. Seems everyone LOVED their SS stepped V2's but I really wanted to go with a more cost effective option without sacrificing a great design.

While CPI is somewhat lesser known than many of the other brands out there, my decision boiled down to a number of reasons (AKA rationalization to spend more $ on the Z ):

-Performance. The CPI headers have gone through dyno testing with proven gains.

-Durability. The CPI headers have been put through true race testing on an endurance race E46 M3.

-Design. The CPI headers are an equal length, 'stepped' design, similar to SS V2 but with it's own improvements/unique aspects.

-Quality. Based on photos, the CPI headers seemed to have great construction. Stainless steel, TIG welded.

-Price. $1200 shipped sure beats SS V2 @ $2800