ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

08-25-2011, 12:11 PM   #1
Stuart Truman
Registered
Rep
Drives: Alpina Roadster S

CD Stuck in dashboard drive? This might help

So, being the tinkerer and inquisitive person that I am, I was wondering if my CD Player or Autochanger supported MP3 disks. 2004 car and my similar vintage company 3 series did and with no aux port or ipod kit, I thought "let's burn a CD and put it in the drive(s) and test them, what's the worst that could happen?" Well, now I know.

So first piece of advice is THEY DON'T PLAY! (I know, I know, a million people on this board would have told me if I'd asked, but I'm an engineer and male, we don't ask directions or advice)

The second piece of advice, the CD Player will ENDLESSLY retry if it sees a disk it can't read and the end result, it starts sulking and WILL NOT EJECT. (see first piece of advice, don't try this, trust me)

At this point I am not a happy bunny and start researching on this forum and others looking for advice which seems to be threefold (other than you're buggered, take it to a dealer and beg):
a) disconnect the battery which will reset it and then (with a friend handy) reconnect it and press eject before the car's ibus wakes up and starts the whole blessed cycle of trying to read it again
b) get in the car with everything off for 15 minutes until the ibus goes to sleep, then when it's asleep, put the key in the ignition at position 1 and hit eject before the system wakes up. I reckon I hit it near simultaneously and I was too late
c) take the radio out (having researched thoroughly how to take the airvents out safely) and lift the lid and remove it that way.