ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

11-01-2014, 02:55 PM   #1
HEY32G
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: Z4 sdrive35is

Looking for Opinions on Which Car to Buy

I'm going to post this question on this forum because of all the forums I go to, you guys are the most mature, level headed group who I'm hoping will offer some good thoughts. I keep flip flopping on what car to buy and I need some of your thoughts. Here's the situation, I've always had sports cars and I'm a very capable driver. Right now I am w/out a sports car, because I'm driving an SUV that my oldest will get when he gets his license in a few months. I'm 50 yrs old and work from home, I'm in the process of starting a software company, so I don't want to spend a lot of money. I'm working about 12-14 hours a day, including weekends and really, really need a car to go out and blow off some steam in. If the business works out like I think it will, I'll be able to buy a lot more car in a few years. So I'm trying to stay around $25k. I keep going round and round on the following cars:
M Roadster - I love it, but I worry about the maintenance costs. The engineering on them is amazing.
Z4 3.0si - less car than the M, but maybe a bit easier to own.
C5 Z06 - this is what my wife wants me to get, but I'm a little concerned above rumbling all over town every time I go somewhere. Do I really want to thunder up to my kids schools in that thing all the time. Plus, to me it looks a bit dated.
370Z - Nice, but they're a dime a dozen and really look mass produced to me. Value will drop like a rock.
Nismo 370Z - Nicer than the Z, but more expensive and can be a bit "ricer" looking.