ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

04-10-2015, 05:26 PM   #1
fullerra
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 08 Z4M Coupe

Garage List
test test  [0.00]
2008 BMW Z4MC  [0.00]
STOLEN (explanation)

I apologize for the late explanation, work has been less than fun this week.
Things started innocently enough, I had the day off, looking to get some work done on the car in preparation of some upcoming track days. The goal was simple:

1. fit the bumper back on the front of the car after fixing my APR splitter / fang gap with plexi-glass, and
2. finding a route to thread some brake ducting onto the front rotors.

That's it, nothing too crazy.

I had just re-located my car within the locked underground lot where I've been doing the bulk of my work for the past several years. Several weeks back I spied a parking spot 3 feet wider than my existing spot, called the parking mgt company who said the spot was free, and I would be able to switch, no problem.

I moved the car, and got it up on jack stands, tires on, where it sat. (my first mistake)

On the day in question, I got the tools and front end into the truck, drove over to the garage, only to find the car GONE. All my stuff (jack stands and some cardboard to use as a crawler) was neatly packed in the corner.

I immediately called the parking management company, who said that no one had towed any car from the lot over the past several weeks, and advised I call the police.

I rushed back home, posted on the forum and called BMW assist.
BMW said that because my BMW Assist had expired, that my car would have to be brought to a dealer to be re-instated, and that they would not be able to re-activate it over the phone, and could therefore not help me locate my car. (second learning point)