ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

03-22-2015, 08:10 PM   #1
Twixboy
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: '04 Z4 3.0i 6spd

Open face vs Full face helmet for autocross

I'm looking to enter my first autocross event this summer, but I'm a total newbie. I'm most likely going to register for the SCCA Starting Line one-day autocross course in Ayer, MA on April 18. They offer the option of adding a Bell open face helmet for $100 or a full face helmet for $200. Which one would you guys recommend? I'm thinking open face would be better because of the better field of vision. I might also join BMWCCA to run with them, but I heard they just changed their helmet requirements. Do you think an open face will be good for autocross for the next several years, or will I eventually need to buy a full face helmet if every org changes their rules?

Also, does it make a difference if I'm in a convertible vs a regular car? I'd be registering for these events in my Z4. I'm assuming the factory roll bar is fine for SCCA and BMWCCA autocross, right?
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2015, 11:13 PM   #2
seank
enthusiast
Rep
Drives: e30 m3,e90 wagon,sprinter,z4m

You can start with an open face but will eventually want a fullface: look cooler and safer. Remember, helmets can do more than protect the brain. Visibility is not a concern with MOST full face helmets.
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2015, 08:22 AM   #3
Twixboy
Captain
United_States
Rep

I'm a germophobe so I figure I'd just get a new helmet from the start instead of renting. I understand the SA2010 will expire in about 5-6 years which is fine because I will likely move onto something else by then. These are my 2 options:

Open face for $100: http://www.saferacer.com/bell-sport-...-racing-helmet