ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Engine, Exhaust, Drivetrain Modifications
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

05-19-2015, 04:53 PM   #1
trevor
Rep
Drives: 2005 BMW Z4 and 2001 BMW 515i

Confusion on Driving a Manual Transmission

So I have been driving a manual transmission for a few months and gotten pretty good at it. Driving smoothly and never stall, I even worked on the following driving habits after reading a lot of forums on optimal driving. My 2001 525i is manual and I seem to be getting 15 mpg from it when I expected about 20 mpg from city. Not much highway so I think that may be why, in city, I use the clutch a lot. Please let me know what you think of my driving habits based on my research.

1. Only use clutch pressed in when stopping for at most 5 seconds, if longer, I shift into neutral and let clutch go.
2. I do not downshift unless I would be jumping more than 2 gears (like after a turn, etc.) and accelerate normally.
3. No more burning clutch smell (actually not even once since I bought the car last week) so I am getting off the clutch properly from what I can tell.
4. If I am coming to a stop, I wait till I am around 5-10 mpg before shifting into neutral because I heard riding the clutch to control speed is bad.

Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2015, 09:42 AM   #2
Twixboy
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: '04 Z4 3.0i 6spd

I'd be interested to hear other people's opinions too. I've been driving stick for most of my adult life, but I never had any official driving lessons so I have no idea what "best practice" is either. For example what do you do when you come to a stop light on a hill? Do you always shift sequentially from 1-2-3-4 or is it okay to skip a gear, from 1-2-4, due to laziness? What do you do in stop and go traffic? Hold down the clutch for 15 min or keep switching between 1st, 2nd and neutral?