ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > Marketplace > Classifieds : For Sale / Wanted / Group Buys
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

04-01-2010, 06:14 PM   #1
wbrewer3
Registered
Rep
Drives: Hopefully Z4

Looking for Z4

BIMMERPOST / Classifieds
Asking Price:
None

Item Interest
Hey guys, First time poster and I need some advice.

I'm currently a college student who owns a 2009 Jeep Wrangler. As fun as the Wrangler has been, it's just a horrible HORRIBLE interstate car and I never get to take it to our farm in KY anymore. As someone who loves cars, I have always admired BMWs.
Anyways, to stop just short of being pedantic, I am really seriously considering buying an early model Z4 as a trade in for my jeep. I have done a lot of looking around and researching online and this is where I'm at. According to online prices and Kelly Blue Book I should at least get around 17k in trade in value for my Jeep and around 20k if I sell it myself.

This brings me to my main points.

1) What do you think I should be looking for mileage, year, model wise and what features are must haves?
2) I could see privately and buy privately and do better but is it worth the risks? On my own I've found a few cars around 15k and 40k or less miles, but these are from private sellers. The last thing I want is to get a lemon or a car which has been abused.
3) Are Z4s reliable? Below is an example of something I could probably trade straight up for and potentially get something extra. Would this be a good car? http://www.bmwofnashville.com/used/B...80aaea8298.htm

In conclusion I apologize for being so long winded. I really really want a Z4, but at the same time am scared to death of trading in a very reliable car (I know American cars suck but Jeep Wranglers are one of the most reliable cars ever made) for something that could suck.

Appreciate 0
      04-01-2010, 08:06 PM   #2
Blind32
Certified Adrenaline Junkie