ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

10-16-2014, 01:51 PM   #1
Knoxes
Private
Rep
Drives: E86

Grumble...

So I just bought this E86 with 50K miles. I had a e30 years ago and I've been eager to get back into a BMW ever since. It's a brilliant car - black over black 6 speed. And in my over-eagerness, I didn't even drive it before making an offer. I know, I know... I've never done that before, but felt like I couldn't miss the opportunity. Now I guess I'm paying for that impulsiveness.

First, the RF were crap and had to be replaced immediately. That was $800. During the tire install, found that the front pads were almost to the rivets, so I had to order new pads and hardware ($60!! for Akebono's - that's pretty reasonable!). Actually looking forward to that install - should be easy and straight forward. Then the oil meter tells me it's time - haven't bought that stuff yet. There's a whistle coming from the driver's side leading edge of the window. Bought some German rubber conditioner for that ($15). Fingers crossed that this works. People have been flashing their lights at me at night and the adaptive system doesn't seem to be working at all. Interestingly, neither are the inboard lights - just the outboards. And I'm pretty sure the a/c compressor is toast because the climate control can't seem to get the temps down and stable.

*sigh*
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2014, 01:52 PM   #2
Knoxes
Private
Rep

Oh, and it's got a slight pull to the right - requires just a bit of counter clockwise pressure to go straight on the freeway. And it still wanders a bit, so some toe-in is probably in order...
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2014, 02:22 PM   #3
whatcubed
Private
Rep
Drives: e46 330ci