ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

06-28-2011, 08:21 AM   #1
FDJon
Rep
Drives: 07 E86 M

Noob here, and 2nd gear issues?

Hello!

I've just joined this forum after buying an 07 Sapphireschwarz E86 M Coupe.. I've had her for 4 days now, with my first track day with her two days ago.
My previous car was a LSB '02 E46 M3, so i decided to go with the same motor in a lighter chassis..

So my question. (not the usual second gear clunk)

After 10 min of track driving, I'm losing 2nd gear completely- the shifter will not go in at all- leaving me to bog around in 3rd where I should be in 2nd..

Any ideas?

Thanks!!

-jon
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2011, 08:32 AM   #2
FDJon
Rep

Stuff i forgot in my earlier post-

1. I am in Germany and my car is a German domestic vehicle.
2. This problem only occurs when the car is being tracked, AND when downshifting from 3rd to 2nd. Never from 1st to 2nd though..
3. I searched and didn't find anything similar to my problem.
4. Does anyone run a square setup to reduce understeer? (like the e46 track junkies)
5. Does anyone else here hate the stock Continental tires? (on track)

thanks again!
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2011, 08:34 AM   #3
inTgr8r
Lieutenant General
Canada
Rep
Drives: M2 Comp

congrats on the new car & welcome

2nd gear rejection;
This is a common track issue, usually occurring on downshifts at a hard right hand turn.
The fix is to upgrade the OE tanny mounts.

If you search "transmission mounts" there are several threads on the topic.
'07 Z4 M Coupe Alpine White (sold)
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2011, 10:15 AM   #4
FDJon
Rep

Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2011, 11:05 AM   #5
Finnegan
Dog Listener
United_States
Rep
Drives: Z4M/. Z3M, E36/46 M3

Hi,

Congratulations on the car!