ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Engine, Exhaust, Drivetrain Modifications
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

05-17-2013, 10:34 PM   #1
mike519
Captain
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2018 M240i

Dynamat for drone

OK, so I am thinking of trying to pick up some sound deadening material like Dynamat to line the truck and, if necessary, elsewhere. I like the sound of my SS Race cans but find drone at low RPM is likely what's bugging me.

I have never used mat like this before. In a roadster, will it help? I think it would if the drone is truly coming from resonance in the car's panels.

Any experience in using this specifically for exhaust drone would be appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 10:51 PM   #2
seank
enthusiast
Rep
Drives: e30 m3,e90 wagon,sprinter,z4m

Why not trade it for a powerloop?
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 10:55 PM   #3
Pheonix
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2007 Z4 M Coupe 2012 e93 M3

Garage List
2007 BMW/Z4MC  [0.00]
Dynamat alone wont do anything for drone. I have SS Race and X-pipe, lined the entire trunk with Dynamat and the drone is still there. However, it help a little bit with the vibration. Dynamat basically a sound dampening.
Do a search, there were many discussions about it here.
The drone isn't too bad with the SS Race and most noticable at only certain RPM. I learn and dont stay in those RPM range.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2013, 11:27 PM   #4
mike519
Captain
Canada
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by seank
Why not trade it for a powerloop?
You were serious in the other thread? If so, PM me...how old your powerloops are, pics, etc.
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2013, 11:34 AM   #5
antennahead
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2007 Z4MR silver grey

Garage List