ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > Z4 DIY (Do It Yourself) Articles
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-13-2012, 05:03 PM   #1
TNZ4MC
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
38
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 Z4M coupe
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nashville

iTrader: (1)

OBD II scanner

I am looking for an OBD scanner that can tell me if the readiness monitors are ready for emissions testing. Anyone have any suggestions?
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2012, 01:35 AM   #2
Barryb97
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
171
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 M coupe
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kirkland, WA

iTrader: (0)

I use the PLX Kiwi 2 wifi adapter and the REV app on my iPhone works pretty well.
__________________
CDV delete, clutch stop, BMW pedals, Strongstrut bar, SS brake lines, rad hole cover, brake duct stop remove, M3 reps, roundel under hood, Intravee II, Homelink, air bag sticker delete, first aid storage, keyhole cover, painted reflectors, Headlight washer disable, Mstache front lip, Autosolutions SSK, Leather Z arm rest, Stromung exhaust, RPI scoop, RTAB limiters, powerflex bushings front, TC Kline DA coilovers…
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 07:21 AM   #3
stasha
Private
0
Rep
53
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

I'm hoping this thread might be able to help me with my problem...
Is the OBDII scanner you're talking about, the software/cable setup that can be purchased from eBay (as an example - http://www.ebay.com/itm/261163472483....m1497.l2649)?

I was told that an autoparts store scanner has limited use in the BMW, hence, I should get this software/patchcord kit.

Well, I'm having problems getting the software loaded on my laptop, despite numerous emails to the seller (from England - " bmw-cable").

Is this what you are using?
If so, can I get some hints on loading it and making it work?
Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 07:44 AM   #4
ricanbandit
Captain
ricanbandit's Avatar
8
Rep
751
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Detroit Metro Area

iTrader: (0)

I use this one with The Torque app on my SGS3, love it great little device

http://www.amazon.com/BAFX-Products-...dbii+bluetooth
__________________
///M Roadster: Stromung Exhaust, Stubby, BMW Performance Shift Knob, RPI scoop, TSW Nurburgring's, Total DeBadge

Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 07:44 AM   #5
Shipkiller
Colonel
Shipkiller's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
2,023
Posts

 
Drives: Me
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
ODB-II is the same for all brands. It only reads engine/emissions faults. If you want to read any of the other data on the car, then you need special equipment or software. There is no standard here like there is for ODB-II.

PM me your email address. I will send you my procedures for installing INPA on Windows 7 (including 64).

INPA is the real deal....
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 08:52 AM   #6
stasha
Private
0
Rep
53
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Rican. I'll check it out.

Shipkiller -- will PM -- BTW, I'm in Portsmouth, VA. "Shipkiller" = aviation? missiles?, subs?
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 08:59 AM   #7
Shipkiller
Colonel
Shipkiller's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
2,023
Posts

 
Drives: Me
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
If you can't PM: shipkiller1181 at g m a i l . c o m

If you want a painless 'guaranteed to work' solution, try BMTechnic. I have the Ebay cable and had to search the internet for all the various forms of the BMW software. I learned may things but I went ahead and purchased the BMTechic cable and software even after I had my system up and running.

The BMTechnic software installer is just bulletproof. It just works.

Retired 24year Bubblehead.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 09:21 AM   #8
stasha
Private
0
Rep
53
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

All I want to do is register my new battery without paying the stealer $200 -- and so the AC/Heat and NAV screen will start working again.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 09:26 AM   #9
Shipkiller
Colonel
Shipkiller's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
2,023
Posts

 
Drives: Me
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
BMW Z4's do NOT need to register a new battery.

Sounds like your car is now in Transport Mode.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 09:47 AM   #10
stasha
Private
0
Rep
53
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shipkiller View Post
BMW Z4's do NOT need to register a new battery.

Sounds like your car is now in Transport Mode.
Yep. Happened after I had a dead battery. How do I exit Transport?
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 11:08 AM   #11
Shipkiller
Colonel
Shipkiller's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
2,023
Posts

 
Drives: Me
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Once you get your software/cable up and running, I think INPA will do it, but I am not sure since I have never had to do this myself.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 12:15 AM   #12
Steenos
First Lieutenant
United_States
9
Rep
326
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4M Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 M Coupe  [0.00]
Shipkiller I'd like to talk to you about getting INPA installed on my machine if possible. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 10:14 AM   #13
Shipkiller
Colonel
Shipkiller's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
2,023
Posts

 
Drives: Me
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steenos View Post
Shipkiller I'd like to talk to you about getting INPA installed on my machine if possible. Thanks
It will have to be via email. I am currently in Hawaii for the next 35 days.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 10:51 AM   #14
Steenos
First Lieutenant
United_States
9
Rep
326
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4M Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tennessee

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 M Coupe  [0.00]
Have a great trip! I bought this cable on ebay http://www.ebay.com/itm/271119742928...S:3160&vxp=mtr

The cable comes with INPA software. I'll let you know when it arrives.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 12:31 PM   #15
stasha
Private
0
Rep
53
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Steenos,
I purchased mine from eBay at http://www.ebay.com/itm/261163472483...84.m1497.l2649

The ads are very similar. I suspect it all comes from a Romanian contact.

Will be curious if you have probs. I have probs getting the Virtual program up -- but Ship sent me some instructions that might be a work around. Have yet to carve time out to try them.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2013, 01:14 PM   #16
thelinux
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
154
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 Z4 3si
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

If you want to buy creader scanner, it's really cheap here. Only $59 and free shipping. I think bavaauto sells it for $179.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Cread...530561793.html
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2013, 02:16 PM   #17
StickMon
My other car is on Mars
StickMon's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,460
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 MR
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lo-Cal

iTrader: (0)

The Product Description on the Creader is classic!
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2013, 04:58 PM   #18
stasha
Private
0
Rep
53
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

I read the product description -- what in the world does it do?? It looks like a Chinese person who took English in HS is translating using a dictionary and thesaurus.

Can you tell me what the Creader does? Why would I want it?
Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2013, 05:49 PM   #19
StickMon
My other car is on Mars
StickMon's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,460
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 MR
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lo-Cal

iTrader: (0)

Actually, it was probably in Chinese and run through something like Google Translate.
Looks like a generic OBD-II scanner. I have an Actron I use on the other cars, but the generic ones aren't very good for BMWs.
I carry a Peake Research in the trunk for use on the Z, and use INPA and DIS for deeper probing.
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2013, 06:04 PM   #20
stasha
Private
0
Rep
53
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4 Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

You're right -- it's like a Google translation.
What is a "Peake Research"?
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2013, 06:26 PM   #21
thelinux
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
154
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 Z4 3si
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stasha View Post
I read the product description -- what in the world does it do?? It looks like a Chinese person who took English in HS is translating using a dictionary and thesaurus.

Can you tell me what the Creader does? Why would I want it?
Thanks.
http://blog.bavauto.com/10813/bmw-an...ing-live-data/
Appreciate 0
      03-14-2013, 07:02 PM   #22
StickMon
My other car is on Mars
StickMon's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,460
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 MR
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lo-Cal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stasha View Post
You're right -- it's like a Google translation.
What is a "Peake Research"?
This gismo. Reads proper BMW hex codes and will reset not only SES light but service intervals as well.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.




zpost
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST